Implementation of the MEVAL Programme

Copy of About

11th EDF Project

History of CARIFORUM

CARIFORUM refers to the Body comprising Caribbean ACP States which are signatories of the Georgetown Agreement. This Agreement was signed in 1975, and it created the African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States (ACP). The grouping is composed of 79 African, Caribbean and Pacific states.

All Participating States in CARIFORUM, with the exception of Cuba, are signatories to the ACP-EU Partnership Agreement or “Cotonou Agreement” and the EPA, respectively.

The Caribbean Forum of the African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States (CARIFORUM) or Forum of Caribbean States are: Antigua and Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname and Trinidad and Tobago.

CARIFORUM was established in the early 1990s, and its functions are to –

(a)        Manage and coordinate policy dialogue between its Participating States and the EU;

(b)        Promote integration and cooperation in the Caribbean;

(c)        Coordinate the allocation of resources and manage the implementation of Regional Indicative Programmes financed by the EDF and regional programmes financed by Member States of the EU and any other source as may be approved by the Council of Ministers from time to time;

(d)        Provide technical guidance and assistance to Participating States in meeting the commitments and securing the benefits provided for in the CARIFORUM-EU EPA; and

(e)        Provide support for the effective participation of CARIFORUM in the Institutions provided for in the CARIFORUM-EU EPA.

more information

The European Union

The European Union (EU) is a political and economic union of 28 member states that are located primarily in Europe. It has an area of 4,475,757 km2 (1,728,099 sq mi) and an estimated population of about 513 million. The EU has developed an internal single market through a standardised system of laws that apply in all member states in those matters, and only those matters, where members have agreed to act as one.

More information ▸

European Development Fund (EDF)

Created in 1957 by the Treaty of Rome and launched in 1959, the European Development Fund (EDF) is the EU's main instrument for providing development aid to African, Caribbean and Pacific (ACP) countries and to overseas countries and territories (OCTs).

More information ▸

Screen Shot 2019-05-09 at 11.16.16 AM.png